If I Wrote Down Everything That I Thought About Writing Down

Then I don’t think I would have time to stop writing.

It’s so much faster to play out a conversation in one’s head concerning a topic upon which an individual has been ruminating. Easier than putting pen to paper, or typing. The thought process moves so quickly that conclusions are reached and new questions brought up before the key points and revelations become solidified or recorded. This is a stream of consciousness. I propose this addendum to the Stream Of Consciousness: the intangibility and fluid, fast-moving nature of thoughts. Maybe that has been the conventional meaning all along and I just never quite put it in a sentence. 

I’m sure someday there’ll be brain-recording devices that can capture our thought processes for faster and more thorough records. This would come quite in handy for dream recollection. It would also lead to more tangents having the chance to be explored more in depth. Do you see the potential problems that might arise? With so much content, such a vast volume of raw ideas, one might find it difficult to filter through every single thought to the elements meant to be retained. Similar to the problem one faces when one wishes to do multiple things at once: they cannot all be done, thus neither can the mind-essays be written.

So instead of choosing between the great ideas I’d accumulated for today, I wrote this.

Say Something